Skip Navigation Welcome to Essex, Massachusetts
This table is used for column layout.

Advanced Search
Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
ECRECC REgional 911 Alerts
  Cape Ann License Plate

Dog Licenses

All dogs must be licensed by March 31st each year.

The Town of Essex Animal Control Bylaws require that all dogs 6 months or older wear a collar or similar device, be licensed and tagged.

Failure to renew your dog license before July 1st will result in a fine of $15.00 in addition to the cost to the license.

You can renew or upload a photo online at You can also register by mail. Please include the Dog Registration form, your current rabies certificate and a check payable to the Town of Essex in the amount of $15 for spayed/neutered dogs and $24 for males and females.

                 Please be advised that the Animal Control Officer may also be issuing citations for the above offences and may confiscate your dog at your own expense in accordance with the Town of Essex Bylaws.

No additional warnings shall be given.

Cost for licensing is $15 for dogs that are spayed or neutered and $24 for males and females. Proof of spayed/neutering and up to date rabies certificate must accompany license registration request.

Please call 978-768-7111 or write with additional questions.


Image of Essex, Massachusetts
 Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
Town of Essex, Massachusetts
Website Disclaimer
Virtual Towns & Schools Website