Skip Navigation Welcome to Essex, Massachusetts
This table is used for column layout.

Advanced Search
Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
ECRECC REgional 911 Alerts




 
Firearms

Q.      I have decided to apply for a license to carry firearms. Am I required to take any classes before applying?

A.      Yes, all first time applicants are required to have taken and successfully completed a Basic Firearms Safety course sanctioned by the Mass. State Police.

Q.      What do I have to do to renew my License to Carry Firearms or F.I.D. card?

A.      Come in to the Essex Police station between 4:00pm and 6:00pm any Thursday evening and bring with you a photo id (current LTC or FID), and a check for $100.00 made out to the “Town of Essex”, or $25.00 check for a Chemical Propellant Only license.

Q.      My son is 17 years old. Can he acquire an LTC or an F.I.D. card?  

A.      Although Massachusetts law states one must be 21 years old for an LTC and 18 for an F.I.D. card, a 15 year old and above can be issued an F.I.D. card, with the written permission of a parent or legal guardian providing he or she is not otherwise disqualified.

Q.      I have applied for an LTC and paid the $100.00 fee. After the police processed my application, I was advised that I was Statutorily Disqualified due to a drunken driving case that I had. Am I entitled to my fee back?

A.      Once you apply and the process has started, the fee does not have to be returned if you fail to qualify to get your license.


 
Image of Essex, Massachusetts
 Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
Town of Essex, Massachusetts
Website Disclaimer
Virtual Towns & Schools Website