Skip Navigation Welcome to Essex, Massachusetts
This table is used for column layout.

Advanced Search
Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
ECRECC REgional 911 Alerts
  Cape Ann License Plate




 
Motor Vehicle Law
Q.      My child is 17 years old and just got her driver’s license. When it comes to passengers in the vehicle, and time of day, what do I need to know?

A.      A Junior Operator is by definition, any person who is under the age of 18 years old and holds a valid driver’s license. Under the Junior Operator’s Law, otherwise known as JOL, there are (3)restrictions as follows:

  • JOL licensees may not operate a motor vehicle with a passenger(s) under 18 years old within the first 6 months of receiving the JOL. The only exceptions are; any immediate family member (i.e. sibling); or when accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old, with at least 1 year of driving experience and occupying the seat next to the JOL; or the JOL is an “emancipated minor”.
  • No person holding a Junior Operator's license shall operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 12:30 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian; or the JOL is an “emancipated minor”.  A junior operator operating a motor vehicle during these hours is considered unlicensed and is subject to arrest.
  • No person holding a Junior Operator’s license shall operate any vehicle requiring a Commercial Driver’s license (CDL).
Q.      How old does my child have to be to get a permit to operate a motor vehicle?

A.      Any person who is at least 16 years of age and has not had a driver's license or right to operate taken away by the Registrar, may apply for a Class D (passenger) permit at any RMV full service office.



 
Image of Essex, Massachusetts
 Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
Town of Essex, Massachusetts
Website Disclaimer
Virtual Towns & Schools Website