Skip Navigation Welcome to Essex, Massachusetts
This table is used for column layout.

Advanced Search
Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
ECRECC REgional 911 Alerts
  Cape Ann License Plate




 
Drugs and Alcohol


Q.      My teenager is under 21 years old and is a passenger in a vehicle with alcohol inside, and all the other occupants are under 21years old. If the alcohol is not hers can she be arrested?

A.      Yes, anyone under the age of 21 found in a car with alcohol in the car, if they are not with their parents or legal guardian is subject to arrest, the law states "Whoever, being under twenty-one years of age and not accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, knowingly possesses, transports or carries on his person any alcohol or alcoholic beverages.." The same goes for a house party, those under 21 are subject to arrest whether or not they have been drinking.

Q.      There is a lot of confusion about Marijuana. At what point can someone be arrested for possession of marijuana?

A.      Under the revised marijuana law, it is no longer a criminal offense to possess 1 ounce or less of marijuana. It is now considered a civil violation enforced by a civil citation and    forfeiture of the marijuana.  Any amount over an ounce of marijuana is still criminal and therefore arrestable.

Q.      I was given a citation for having an ounce or less of marijuana. How do I pay the citation?

A.      The $100.00 fine is payable by check to the Town of Essex and should be mailed or hand-delivered to the Town Clerk at Town Hall.


 
Image of Essex, Massachusetts
 Essex, Massachusetts Town Seal
Town of Essex, Massachusetts
Website Disclaimer
Virtual Towns & Schools Website